2014 Award Recipients


Toormina Video. Pat Grant


Finding Gossamyr: Vol. 1. Sarah Ellerton, artist; David Rodriguez, writer (Th3rd World Studios)


An ANZAC Tale. Ruth Starke, author; Greg Holfeld, illustrator (Working Title Press)

Grubby Little Smudges of Filth. Daniel Reed (SLG Publishing)

Mr Unpronounceable Adventures. Tim Molloy (Milk Shadow Books)



John Dixon

Ben Hutchings

Gap Year Award Recipients

 2008 GOLD LEDGERS (for work published in 2007)

The Great Gatsby. Nicki Greenberg. (Allen & Unwin)

Vowels. Skye Ogden. (Gestalt Publishing)

2009 GOLD LEDGERS (for work published in 2008)

The Sacrifice. Bruce Mutard. (Allen & Unwin)

In For The Krill #1. Jill Brett & Greg Holfeld (Panic Productions)

2010 GOLD LEDGERS (for work published in 2009)

Hollow Fields Omnibus Collection. Madeleine Rosca. (Seven Seas)

Alec: The Years Have Pants. Eddie Campbell. (Top Shelf Productions)

Digested.02. Bobby.N. (Gestalt Publishing)

 Flinch. (Gestalt Publishing)

 2011 GOLD LEDGERS (for work published in 2010)

Changing Ways. Book 1: Mutation. Justin Randall. (Gestalt Publishing)

The Playwright. Daren White & Eddie Campbell. (Top Shelf Productions)

2012 GOLD LEDGERS (for work published in 2011)

Blue. Pat Grant. (Online 2011: www.boltonblue.com. Print edition 2012:Top Shelf Productions/Giramondo)

Hidden. Mirranda Burton. (Black Pepper)

2013 GOLD LEDGERS (for work published in 2012)

Mad Bonaz 4 Lyfe. Andrew Fulton. (Self-published)

It Shines and Shakes and Laughs. Tim Molloy. (Milk Shadow Books)

2014 Judges’ Short List

The 2014 Ledger Awards Organising Committee is proud to announce the 2014 Judges’ Short List. These projects garnered final votes from the Judging Panel. Recipients of the Bronze, Silver and Gold awards, drawn from this list, will be announced at the Awards Ceremony on Friday, 11 April at the State Library of Victoria.

An Anzac Tale. Ruth Starke, author; Greg Holfeld, illustrator (Working Title Press)

Cordite 43.1: Pumpkin. Bruce Mutard, Queenie Chan, Marijka Gooding, Gregory Mackay, Mandy Ord, Frank Candiloro, Mirranda Burton, Bernard Caleo, Pat Grant,
Kirrily Schell. Kent MacCarter, Ed. (Cordite Poetry Review)

The Corner Store. Louie Joyce (self published)

Da ‘n’ Dill – The Showbag Years. Dillon Naylor (Milk Shadow Books)

The Deep Vol. 2: The Vanishing Island. Tom Taylor, writer; James Brouwer, artist; Wolfgang Bylsma, ed. (Gestalt Publishing)

Demons. Tony Thorne (self published)

Digested.06. Bobby N., writer/artist; Wolfgang Bylsma, ed. (Gestalt Publishing)

Finding Gossamyr Vol. 1. Sarah Ellerton, artist; David Rodriguez, writer (Th3rd World Studios)

Good Dog, Whiskey. Kent Kobi (self published)

Grubby Little Smudges of Filth. Daniel Reed (SLG Publishing)

Itty Bitty Bunnies in Rainbow Pixie Candy Land. Dean Rankine (Action Lab – Danger Zone)

Kranburn. Ben Michael Byrne (self published/FEC Comics)

Life Zone. Simon Hanselmann, Lashna Tuschewski, Marc Pearson (Space Face Books)

The Long Weekend in Alice Springs. Joshua Santospirito, adapted from the original essay by Craig San Roque (San Kessto Publications)

Mr. Unpronounceable Adventures. Tim Molloy (Milk Shadow Books)

Neomad Book One: Space Junk. Sutu (Gestalt Publishing)

Neomad Book Two: The Last Crystal. Sutu (Gestalt Publishing)

Pubes of Fire, Pubes of Flame. Andrew Fulton (self published/Smaller Comics)

Rosa Goes For A Walk. Nic Lawson (self published)

Squirt-Stone – The Collected Plump Oyster Volume 1. Ben Constantine (Milk Shadow Books)

St. Owl’s Bay. Simon Hanselmann (Floating World)

Toormina Video. Pat Grant (self published)

We Can Go Anywhere But We’ll Always Be Where We Are. Katie Parrish (self published)

You are invited!


(Text version below…)

The Ledger Awards Organising Committee and major sponsor,
Supanova Pop Culture Expo
cordially invite you to

The 2014 LEDGER AWARDS Ceremony
Acknowledging excellence in Australian comics and publishing

To be held on
Friday, 11 April 2014 at
Experimedia, The State Library of Victoria
328 Swanston St, Melbourne

Featuring Master of Ceremonies
Bernard Caleo

and an exclusive
Q&A with
hosted by Emmet O’Cuana

RSVP: tim@ledgerawards.org

Doors open at 7.30pm for an 8.00pm start. This is a free event.
We reserve the right to cap admittance once venue capacity is met.

Visit www.LedgerAwards.org for further information and updates.

With thanks to our generous and supportive sponsors…

Supanova Pop Culture Expo
State Library of Victoria
Jeffries Printing Services
Comic Books On Demand
All Star Comics, Melbourne
Impact Comics!, Canberra