2019 Short List announced!

The Ledger Awards Organising Committee is proud to announce the 2019 Judges’ Short List.

These projects all received final votes from the Judging Panel. Recipients of the Bronze, Silver and Gold awards, drawn from this list, will be announced at the Awards Ceremony on Friday 26th April at the State Library of NSW. All welcome!

The 2019 Ledger Awards Short List is…

Bodies of Water – Campbell Whyte. Manning Community Centre.
Bold Ben Hall – Monty Wedd. Comicoz.
“Career Day” – Dean Rankine. Bongo Comics.
The Claw: The Terrible Beautiful Claw – Marc Pearson. Glom Press.
Clem Hetherington and the Ironwood Race – Jen Breach & Doug Holgate. Graphix/Scholastic.
Dream Diary – Rachel Ang. Self-pubished.
Esther! a true story – Sandra Broman & Esther Olivares. Write & Wrong.
Eternal – Ryan Lindsay, Eric Zawadzki and Dee Cunniffe. Black Mask Studios.
“Final Galaxy Battle” – Jeb MacKay & Sheldon Vella. Marvel Comics.
The Grot – Pat Grant and Fionn McCabe. Self-published.*
How to Survive a World on Fire – Campbell Whyte. Self-published.
“Love Accurately” – Dean Rankine. Bongo Comics.
Meet Me In The Pit #s 1 and 2 – Edited by Chris Neill. Blueprint Comics.
Minefield – Hien Pham. Bedside Press.
My Big Life – Bailey Sharp. Glom Press.
Neither Here nor Hair – Edited by Alisha Jade. Petrie Press.
Raymonde – Campbell Whyte. Self-published.
Return to Houndstooth College – Catriona Drummond. Self-published.
Small Mortal Mammals – Robin Tatlow-Lord. Amplified Press.
Struggle: Revised Edition – Darren Close. Ozone Studios.
Swimsuit – Rachel Ang. Glom Press.
Truth, Justice and the American Dream: The Men Behind Superman – Julian Voloj & Thomas Campi. Comicoz.
“Until We Are All Free” – Behrouz Boochani & Alex Mankiewicz. PositiveNegatives.
A Week in Warrigilla – Pi & Teloka Berry. Self-published.

* Due to this being a part of a larger work, the creator has requested not to be considered for a Ledger Award at this time.

2019 Ledger Awards Ceremony: you are invited!

The State Library of NSW proudly presents: THE 2019 LEDGER AWARDS CEREMONY. Acknowledging excellence in Australian comics and graphic novels

The 2019 Ledger Awards Ceremony will be held in the Gallery Room of the State Library of NSW. Access is via the Mitchell Steps on Shakespeare Place. Our MC will be, as always, the inimitable, Platinum Ledger Award winning, Bernard Caleo. Entertainment will be supplied by the wonderful people of Read To Me.

Doors will open at 6:30pm with the Awards Ceremony commencing at 7pm. Official proceedings will be followed by socialising and celebration in the Library’s beautiful Friends Room.

Admission: FREE. Everyone welcome! Bring your friends! Tickets must be reserved via Eventbrite https://www.eventbrite.com.au/e/the-ledger-awards-tickets-57461392572

Enquiries: tim@ledgerawards.org

With thanks to: The State Library of New South Wales, JMC Academy, Kings Comics, Impact Comics, Comics Mastermind and Jeffries Printing.